Australian Sparkling Wine Show

About the
Australian Sparkling Wine show

Who we are and Why we Formed

The Australian Sparkling Wine Show (ASWS) is the only dedicated sparkling wine show in Australia. Our objective is to showcase the best sparkling wines Australia has to offer, recognise and support our Australian sparkling winemakers in this ever growing and improving category.

The Australian Sparkling Wine Show provides the best opportunity for national recognition and benchmarking for Australia’s sparkling winemakers.

We also provide a platform for winemakers, industry suppliers and supporters to connect, share ideas and raise their profile.

Our Wine Show Team


Our committee members are dedicated volunteers, who are key and influential members of the Australian sparkling wine industry. All of them have a passion for Australian sparkling wine and seeing the industry flourish.

Wine show committee members are responsible for engaging with winemakers and sponsors whilst sharing the value of participating in the ASWS and supporting our sparkling wine industry.

Our 2021 Judges


Trina Smith
• Committee Chair •

Trina Smith is the Group White and Sparkling Winemaker for Pernod Ricard Winemakers Australia and is a graduate of the University of Adelaide with a Bachelor of Agricultural Science (Oenology).

Trina started her sparkling winemaker career with Brown Brothers, before moving to Senior Sparkling Winemaker with Treasury Wine Estates prior to her current role with Pernod Ricard Winemakers.

A finalist for the Gourmet Traveller WINE, Winemaker of the Year in 2020, and a judge at numerous national and regional wine shows Trina has been in the wine industry for over 20 years.

Cate Looney

Cate Looney
• Secretary •

Cate Looney is the Senior Winemaker with the Brown Family Wine Group, at Milawa in Victoria’s King Valley. A graduate in Wine Science from Charles Sturt University, Cate has been with the Brown Family Wine Group for over 15 years managing a team of four winemakers and producing over 10M bottles of wine per year.

2020 Winemaker of the Year at the Women in Wine Awards, has extensive experience as a wine show judge, is the Secretary of the Australian Sparkling Wine Show Committee and sits on the Charles Sturt University Wine Courses Industry Advisory Committee.

Loic le Calvez Wine Truth

Loïc Le Calvez
• Treasurer •

Loïc Le Calvez is an Oenologist / Wine Consultant who set out to champion the Australian Sparkling Wine Industry. A former Chief Winemaker and Chief Operating Officer at Taltarni in Victoria and Clover Hill in Tasmania, in 2016 Loïc started his own business ‘Wine Truth’.

With ‘Wine Truth’, Loïc consults to wineries but also delivers unique wines to individuals whilst sharing the story behind these wines.

Loïc is also an agent for French cooperage ‘Tonnellerie Vicard’ in Australia and a regular judge in Wine Shows.

Glenn Thompson Domaine Chandon

Glenn Thompson
• Chief Steward •

Glenn is a senior winemaker at Domaine Chandon – Australia's leading premium sparkling wine producer, located in the Yarra Valley, Victoria. He has been in this role for 16 years.

Prior to this Glenn worked with De Bortoli Wines for 4 years. He has a bachelor of wine science from Charles Sturt University.

Glenn is an experienced and engaging wine show judge and is the Chief Steward of the Show.

Chris Smales winemaker Blue Pyrenees

Chris Smales
• Committee member •

Chris is a winemaker at Blue Pyrenees Estate in Avoca, Victoria. He has been there for 19 years involved in the production of traditional method sparkling wine, red and white table wine.

Chris has a bachelor of wine science from Charles Sturt University. He started his career with UK wine retailer Oddbins in 1990 and studied in the UK.

Chris is proud to be involved with the Australian Sparkling Wine Show and in the wine show system as a steward, associate judge and judge.

All judges for the ASWS are experienced wine show judges, and are members of our wine industry from backgrounds including production, media and wine service.

Jane Faulkner
• Chair of Judges •

Jane Faulkner is a freelance wine writer and wine commentator. Her background is in journalism and she is a columnist for James Halliday Companion magazine. Jane has worked in major newspapers and also TV and radio.

Jane is a highly respected and experienced wine judge both locally and internationally. She regularly travels to Italy to visit the wine regions.

Sandrine Gimon

Sandrine Gimon
• Judge •

Raised in Savoie, France, now based in the Yarra Valley, Sandrine is the former Chief Winemaker for Rymill, Coonawarra.

As part of Wine Network Consulting, she is working in vineyard management, winemaking, winery development, business advise and recruiting.

Sandrine is an active wine show judge and has completed the Len Evans Tutorial.

Sarah Andrews Wine judge

Sarah Andrews
• Judge •

Since 2015 Sarah has supported the WSET Educator Training program and is the Business Development Manager for AU & NZ.

She is on the technical committee for the Association de la Sommellerie Internationale (ASI) and is active in Australian National and Regional wine shows as Chair, Panel Chair and Judge.

Sarah has been co-president of Sommeliers Australia since 2017. Len Evan Tutorial scholar, Certified Sommelier, WSET Diploma

Joshua Cooper
• Associate Judge •

Joshua Cooper is the man behind Joshua Cooper Wines in the Macedon Ranges.

Josh is a passionate wine enthusiast and winemaker with a vast general wine knowledge

Josh is an active wine show judge and has completed the Len Evans Tutorial

John Harris wine judge

John Harris
• Associate Judge •

John is the co-founder and winemaker of the urban cellar door Mitchell Harris Wines in Ballarat. A former winemaker at Chandon, he specialises in cool climate winemaking.

John has been an active wine show judge for over ten years, having judged at many regional and capital city wine shows.

Winemakers Enter Your
Best Australian Sparkling Wine

Entering your sparkling wine in this show provides the opportunity to benchmark against the best in Australia and be recognised by your Australian peers.

Importantly, as a Trophy, Gold or Silver Medal Winner, you will qualify to enter the exclusive National Wine Show in Canberra.

Plus, an excellent result at the show can provide a significant marketing uplift.

There are several wine classes for you to enter. Click below for entry details.

Our History

First held in 2010, the Australian Sparkling Wine Show (ASWS) is the only dedicated sparkling wine show in Australia, championing a growing category of exceptional wines.

Originally known as the Marysville Sparkling Wine Festival, the ASWS began as a seed that grew out of the rubble and ashes of a community that was destroyed in the devastating February 2009 Black Saturday bushfires.

A group of locals, many of whose lives had been severely impacted by the fires, agreed to come on board to help make the show a success. Sixty-nine entries across five classes were received in that first year, and since then, the ASWS has continued to grow.

In 2013, it became the Australian Sparkling Wine Show (ASWS), highlighting its national significance.

Marysville sparkling wine festival